Our Mission

In 2022, the membership and board of the International Regional Magazine Association voted to update our name to International Regional Media Association, to reflect the ongoing evolution of the platforms in our industry, but to retain our focus on high quality, regional content.

The purpose of the International Regional Media Association is to strengthen the regional media and magazine publishing industry by fostering the free flow of information and experience between a group of non-competitive publishers. Through this limitless sharing of ideas and experience, IRMA helps the regional genre of magazines maintain relevance and visibility in their respective markets.


IRMA began in a fishing boat in 1960 when two circulation managers from separate magazines, Gus Weiner of Down East and Peter Sykas of Vermont Life, decided to spend a day trading ideas to grow their magazines while enjoying their favorite pastime. Magazine secrets flowed between the two so freely, they decided to do it again the following year, and then the next. Other magazine professionals heard about the annual get-together and began to join them. Soon the boat was overloaded, so they decided it was time to meet on land.

A few years later, the growing group wanted to hear from the publisher of the granddaddy of regional magazines, Arizona Highways. Peter Sykas contacted him, and he said he needed a formal invitation to get approval from state officials to make the trip. A quick conversation with the owner of a local stationery shop produced a letterhead for the invitation. Over the counter that day, the organization was named the North American Association of Regional Publishers.

At the annual conference in Nevada, in 1968, the name was changed to Regional Publishers Association. After many years under that name, the organization was renamed the International Regional Magazine Association in 1995 to reflect a growing number of member magazines outside the United States.

Regardless of its name, the original intent of those first two members has remained the same for more than 60 years. Free and open communication among members is the heart and soul of the organization.

Contact Us

We encourage other regional publishers to join and we welcome publishing industry suppliers as sponsors.

Questions? Contact Joyce Byrne, Executive Director

Texas Highways has been a member of IRMA since 1977. Over the years, the information we have learned at the conferences and via personal communication with other members has been invaluable to the continued success of our publication. No other conference compares for us.”

no-pic Joan Henderson, Director
Texas Highways Magazine

IRMA's Leadership Team

Board of Directors

Through 2023 Conference:

  • Shawn Dalton, Creative Director, Saltscapes
  • Kathe Lemon, Editor-in-Chief, Avenue Magazine
  • Alison Dickie, Publisher, albemarle Magazine

Through 2024 Conference:

  • Michelle Kelly, Editor, Cottage Life
  • Edward Graves, CEO, New Mexico Magazine

Through 2026 Conference:

  • Annie Stoltie, Editor, Adirondack Life
  • Kelly Mero, Publisher, Arizona Highways
  • Brian Kevin, Editor, Down East
  • Ken Smith, SFG Sponsor Board Member

IRMA Officer Slate

  • President: Kelly Mero, Publisher, Arizona Highways
  • Vice President: Todd Goodyear, President, Downhome
  • Treasurer: Andrea Lin, Publisher, Texas Highways
  • Secretary: Annie Stoltie, Editor, Adirondack Life

Presidents Council

2020/2022 President: Mark Mahorsky,
Creative Director, Texas Highways

2019/2020 President: Shawn Dalton,
Creative Director, Saltscapes

2018/2019 President: Errol Laborde,
Editor-in-Chief, Louisiana Life/Acadiana Profile

2017 President: Penny Caldwell,
Publisher, Cottage Life

2016 President: Chris Amundson,
Publisher, Colorado Life and Nebraska Life

2015 President: Chris Amundson,
Publisher, Colorado Life and Nebraska Life

2014 President: Win Holden,
Publisher, Arizona Highways

2013 President: Win Holden,
Publisher, Arizona Highways

2012 President: Win Holden,
Publisher, Arizona Highways

2010 President: Danita Allen Wood,
Publisher, Missouri Life

2008 President: Jim Gourlay,
Publisher, Saltscapes

2007 President: Joan Henderson,
Publisher, Oklahoma Today

2001 President: Al Zikovitz,
President/Publisher, Cottage Life Magazine

We're welcoming new members and sponsors!Contact Us